Crash and Burn Down the ‘Vaguebook’ Rabbit Hole

vague2

And so, my experiment with “Vaguebooking” is over. Over before it even really began. If you don’t know, “Vaguebooking” is the art of passive aggressively sharing your innermost feelings to the entire world when the true recipient is a single individual. My plan was to venture into this world of vague status sharing with a few of my own and then after a month, write a blog about my misadventures. However, I ran into a slight problem…

…I actually a give damn!

I give a damn about the people that take time out of their days to make an emotional inquiry and investment into my well being. I began my experiment on Tuesday and by Wednesday it became clear that I am not cut out for this research. I am a writer, and I research people to make my characters lovable, enjoyable and believable. As a social scientist, I research and observe people to better help them achieve their goals and enrich their lives. But these Vaguebookers live in a world that I’m not comfortable in.

vague1

I knocked out the first blog with only two days of “data” and I’ve decided it will never see the light of day. Why you ask? Simple. Because in the end, it just doesn’t matter.

Trying to enlighten a Vaguebooker is like trying to have a discussion with someone who believes race relations in the U.S. are better than ever, despite the fact that they’ve never been a part of a minority race. There’s this notion that no one else matters, no other thought is important, and if you’re not on board with that thought process, you’ve got no place in this world.

I of course, cannot think that way. I’m not built that way, which is probably why I’m in the profession that I’m in. Based on the comments, texts and e-mails of concern I’ve received about my Vaguebook posts, I’ve chosen my friends well, because they, like me, actually care. That of course only serves to make us potential food for the Vaguebook sharks circling in the waters.

Now, having chosen my friends well (or perhaps they chose me) I also know that we’re all smart enough to recognize when the drama net is cast in the water. But still, it’s in our nature to fix things and help others see the light at the end of the tunnel in the hopes that we can re-ignite a spark of hope when all seems lost.

So my grand experiment, one that I could not tolerate for more than two days, did not do what it was intended to do. It did not enlighten Vaguebookers to take a look at their own behavior and recognize that they actually have close friends they can talk to for assistance. It did not shed light on the inner thoughts and ambitions of those who’ve started a ridiculous social media epidemic. All it really did was shed light on a group of people who demonstrate genuine empathy and affection for someone perceived to be in trouble. All this failed experiment did was show me that there are people out there capable of doing and saying something without looking for something in return. This experiment showed me…no…reminded me…that there’s hope for a world without borders and drama. There’s hope for a world that practices unconditional love and friendship. There’s hope that people can look beyond themselves and realize their impact on others as I did over the last two days.

And that’s a whole lot of alright with me.

Happiness

About My PoeticJustus

Look, I'll be honest. These "about me" sections drive me nuts. Basically because I'm awful at self promotion. Ok, not so much awful as, uncertain. I mean, what do I say? How much do I share? Do people really care? Here's what I'll do. I'll share some info and you can just decide what you like and what you don't. Deal? Cool!! So, I am Chicago born writer moonlighting as a mental health professional. Now, my paycheck and bank account would tell you that the opposite is true. But in my heart, I'm a writer. I have a few characters that I am very passionate about and some stories to tell and in between there, I have thoughts to share. Some are serious, some are funny...ok...most are funny. Nothing brings me more joy than stirring up the pot, pointing out hypocrisy, and getting people to think outside the box and challenge their long held beliefs. I don't want to change your mind or your habits...just think of me as the Devil's Advocate. So hey! Sit back, take a read, and feel free to let me know what you think. See ya around cyberspace!! Dennis
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Crash and Burn Down the ‘Vaguebook’ Rabbit Hole

  1. dave says:

    now what the hell am I going to do with my syringe full of haldol I had ready for your takedown?! maybe you should think about others before you go vague booking !

  2. vanessa says:

    it’s so nice to have the option of creepily staring at you from the hallway until you tell me what’s wrong. thankfully i haven’t had to do that, but the option is there….

Leave a Reply

