I try to think but nothing happens!

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

Day 13/16
I haven’t written since that night I didn’t want to write.

It seems like a lifetime ago, but I don’t feel too upset about it. I know I signed on for the “500 words for 31 days” challenge, but seriously, I needed a break. So this is my day 13. Well…day 13 of 16 I guess you can say. And what have I done? What’s kept me away? What’s made my brain request a break in the action.

Nothing.

At least nothing specific.

I’ve spent the last three days cranking out mental health assessments, which, if you were to add all the words up, well…let’s just say I could spread them out over a few days to qualify for the daily challenge. I’ve met some interesting people. I’ve watched people cry, laugh inappropriately, curse at people that weren’t physically present and completely go off as they described their family with very colorful metaphors. The week has been interesting because of that, but also emotionally draining.

I’ve escaped that by watching some television and getting lost in fictional worlds. For you science fiction fans out there…if you’re not watching Bitten, Almost Human, or Being Human…you’re seriously missing out. I got my Castle fix in, some Agents of Shield in and got caught up on Dracula, which isn’t actually a bad show. I was a little concerned. After all, they put it on Friday nights which is typically where shows go to die. But it seems to be digging in and holding its own. Plus, I’m kind of stoked that Renfield is a big black dude…and thus far he’s not eating roaching and various bugs.

Now, from the outside looking in, you’d think these things would be distractions. One might consider these things as obstacles to keep me from writing. I would however submit that it was simply a time to recharge. What I’ve learned over the last couple of years about writing is that it’s important to write everyday. It has to become a habit and ultimately…a part of who you are. However, I’ve also learned that breaks are good. We sleep at night to recharge our bodies and we take breaks in between workouts to rest our muscles.

So why then should I not rest my mind and that creative part of me as well?

Writing is already very much a part of who I am now. But too much of a good thing can be bad. Right? I mean, no matter how much you may love something, there are times when you need to step back for a little while and approach it from a different angle…and fully rested. Over the last 3 days, as I’ve relaxed my brain and decompressed from the madness and monotony of mental health assessments, I’ve managed to develop a character for a new series of short stories, in addition to developing a new path for my current short story character to travel down and I’ve also argued…with myself…about a possible alternate ending to the vampire trilogy I’m working on.

So all in all…rest has been berry berry good to me.

But now it’s time to get back to work.

writeratwork

About My PoeticJustus

Look, I'll be honest. These "about me" sections drive me nuts. Basically because I'm awful at self promotion. Ok, not so much awful as, uncertain. I mean, what do I say? How much do I share? Do people really care? Here's what I'll do. I'll share some info and you can just decide what you like and what you don't. Deal? Cool!! So, I am Chicago born writer moonlighting as a mental health professional. Now, my paycheck and bank account would tell you that the opposite is true. But in my heart, I'm a writer. I have a few characters that I am very passionate about and some stories to tell and in between there, I have thoughts to share. Some are serious, some are funny...ok...most are funny. Nothing brings me more joy than stirring up the pot, pointing out hypocrisy, and getting people to think outside the box and challenge their long held beliefs. I don't want to change your mind or your habits...just think of me as the Devil's Advocate. So hey! Sit back, take a read, and feel free to let me know what you think. See ya around cyberspace!! Dennis
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

