Just Do It! Sorry Nike…

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

Day #12
I didn’t want to write today.

Well, that’s not entirely true. I did want to. Mostly. I mean, I thought about it all day. I had a lot of things to say. Important things to get down. New ideas for stories, possible thoughts for my second novel, which in and of itself is strange considering I have not completed, submitted, or published my first. I wanted to write today, I really did, but I was feeling a little defiant about it because I felt pressured to write. Anyone who knows me knows that anytime I feel pressured or obligated to do something…I will completely shut down. I do the things I do because I want to, because I choose to and because doing them brings me happiness. But as soon as I feel like I HAVE to do something, or someone gives me the impression that I MUST do something…I get a little resentful.

Ultimately, I think what I really needed was a day off. I mean seriously, people work 40 hours per week or more, for five days each week…or more…and they need a day off. That’s really all I needed. I think. And that would have been ok. Right? The strange thing is, I encourage people to take time off to relax their minds and bodies all the time. Another writer taking part in this 31 day challenge posted a statement saying that she was tired and not writing that day…and I applauded her. She wasn’t tired of writing, she was just tired in general and recognized that she needed a break. And some part of me was feeling that today. I was perfectly content to watch football for six hours, maybe have a little rum or some tequila, and then settle into a movie or catch up on the DVR. But…as I recently told someone…we are all slaves to our art.

I am a slave to my art and write now that art is writing.

That’s why I put so much pressure on myself to get something down, especially when I have committed to doing something each day. I dare say the same can be true of anyone who does something that they enjoy each day. If you’re into fitness, you work out a little bit each day. If you’re a chef you cannot wait to get into the kitchen to create something phenomenal. Photographers take their cameras everywhere…just in case that amazing shot comes into view. And quite frankly, at the end of the day, it feels good. I can’t speak for everyone, but for me, it feels as if I’ve accomplished something. It feels as if I’ve successfully taken the day and found a way to decompress from the pressures and stressors…natural and otherwise. Mostly though, it feels as if I’ve taken the English language to explain how I feel so that someone else can take the words, read them, absorb them and hopefully understand one simple truth.

When you do what you love everyday, at least for a little while, it’s no longer obligation…it’s just who you are.

And that’s a little bit of alright!

10147_609615565732679_1124751862_n

About My PoeticJustus

Look, I'll be honest. These "about me" sections drive me nuts. Basically because I'm awful at self promotion. Ok, not so much awful as, uncertain. I mean, what do I say? How much do I share? Do people really care? Here's what I'll do. I'll share some info and you can just decide what you like and what you don't. Deal? Cool!! So, I am Chicago born writer moonlighting as a mental health professional. Now, my paycheck and bank account would tell you that the opposite is true. But in my heart, I'm a writer. I have a few characters that I am very passionate about and some stories to tell and in between there, I have thoughts to share. Some are serious, some are funny...ok...most are funny. Nothing brings me more joy than stirring up the pot, pointing out hypocrisy, and getting people to think outside the box and challenge their long held beliefs. I don't want to change your mind or your habits...just think of me as the Devil's Advocate. So hey! Sit back, take a read, and feel free to let me know what you think. See ya around cyberspace!! Dennis
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

