Good Morning?

There’s really nothing good about them!

At least not for me!

I mean…I get it. As a friend recently suggested, I should really be happy and feel blessed that I have another morning to awaken to. And you know, for the most part, I am. Oh alright, I just AM…lest anyone think I have some suicidal ideation floating around the brain. Let’s just assume that I don’t have that and focus on the topic at hand, which is the fact that mornings are tools of the devil.

There have been two mornings that have worked well for me. The morning of June 12, 1994 was remarkable because I woke up realizing that my son was born the night before. That’s a feeling that just cannot be duplicated. The other morning that stands out…well…that’s just going to stay with me for now.

Throughout the 80’s I LOVED mornings. Well…I loved SATURDAY mornings. More specifically, I loved Saturday morning cartoons. That’s pretty much gone now. Seriously! Even Cartoon Network sucks!

I look forward to each and every day because I’m curious. I’m curious about the world, life, and people. I’m curious about MY world, MY life, and the people in it. I really want to know what happens next. For me, it’s like being in Vegas. You sit down at the blackjack table, place your bet, and you get a couple of cards. The dealer is showing a six, so you slowly, deliberately, cautiously, take a peek at yours. A queen and a nine. You smile inside. After all is said and done, the dealer flips…and has a king…pulls another…now an eight…

Busted!!

The smile leaves the inside of the body and travels to the face. Not too big though, you still need to act like you’ve been there before. But now, there’s that pull…that draw…you just have to see what’s going to happen next. When it’s me at the table, I need to know if I’m going to get that feeling again. That winning feeling that makes that initial fear and uncertainty wash away. And quite frankly, even if I lose, I’m still going to play another hand, because I still need to know what’s going to happen next.

That’s life for me. That’s why I love it and appreciate the fact that I can wake up everyday. Because I desperately need to know what’s going to happen next. That could also be why I’m sub-consciously obsessed with immortality. I want to keep waking up so I can continue to see what comes next. And not just for me…but for the world. I want to continue waking up to realize not only my potential, but the potential we have as human beings. I want to continue waking up to see just how fabulous a hand I’m going to have that day.

I just don’t want to do it until after 10:30am!

About My PoeticJustus

Look, I'll be honest. These "about me" sections drive me nuts. Basically because I'm awful at self promotion. Ok, not so much awful as, uncertain. I mean, what do I say? How much do I share? Do people really care? Here's what I'll do. I'll share some info and you can just decide what you like and what you don't. Deal? Cool!! So, I am Chicago born writer moonlighting as a mental health professional. Now, my paycheck and bank account would tell you that the opposite is true. But in my heart, I'm a writer. I have a few characters that I am very passionate about and some stories to tell and in between there, I have thoughts to share. Some are serious, some are funny...ok...most are funny. Nothing brings me more joy than stirring up the pot, pointing out hypocrisy, and getting people to think outside the box and challenge their long held beliefs. I don't want to change your mind or your habits...just think of me as the Devil's Advocate. So hey! Sit back, take a read, and feel free to let me know what you think. See ya around cyberspace!! Dennis
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

