What Inspires You?

Or…perhaps it’s less of a ‘what’…and more of a ‘who’.

What or who inspires you? What pushes you to run that extra mile when your mind or body says you need to stop? What compels you to drop everything to follow your dream when all around you tell you that you’re mad? What is it that pulls you up from the depths of sadness, depression, and despair, and propels you forward to find the success you so desperately crave?

And may in fact, deserve!

Inspiration comes in many forms. We find it in print. In the books, articles, and poems we read. In the inspirational quotes we pass around Facebook like a joint. Sometimes we find it in the arts. In a painting, a sculpture, possibly a photograph. Even a play or film can cause one to rethink their present and set them on a path that may ultimately lead to a very happy destiny. I don’t know about you, but I’ve been inspired by music before. And sometimes, when not bombarded with the crap they call music today, I feel it again. Music has inspired me to write the majority of my poems. It’s calmed me during times of stress and distress. And it’s made me feel alive.

Inspiration is that force that guides us, moves us, invites us, and challenges us to be the best we can be. It opens our minds and hearts to limitless possibilities. It reminds us that if we put as much energy into achieving our goals as we put into making excuses as to why we cannot achieve them, we would wake up daily with great smiles on our faces, and happiness and joy in our hearts. Inspiration reminds us that we have everything we need inside to face any challenge and overcome any obstacle that stands before us. It serves as the natural enemy to fear and doubt as it stands side by side with its brother’s, strength and confidence.

I was inspired by my 6th grade teacher, John McMain. And thanks to him, I never feared the often daunting task of writing a term paper. He showed support, allowed me to grow and make mistakes, but above all, he always had my back. Today, I was inspired by a woman who has lived under the crushing weight of crack cocaine addiction for the last 25 years. She has 16 months of sobriety now and for the first time in ages…she feels hopeful for her future. As a father I find inspiration in the actions of young men and women who do everything they can to put their children first. They attempt to give them the tools they need to succeed and always remind their children that no matter what happens…win, lose, or draw…they will never be alone. As a writer I find inspiration in the authors who dedicate themselves to bringing us to new worlds. Worlds of magic, of fantasy, or love. Worlds that take us away from the madness we deal with day to day and give us a moment to be somewhere…anywhere…else.

So what…or who, inspires you? What drives you to take those steps forward when there’s so much holding you back? When your time comes, when you realize your destiny, when your dreams come true, who, or what will you thank?

I have my list ready to go! And my time starts…NOW!!

About My PoeticJustus

Look, I'll be honest. These "about me" sections drive me nuts. Basically because I'm awful at self promotion. Ok, not so much awful as, uncertain. I mean, what do I say? How much do I share? Do people really care? Here's what I'll do. I'll share some info and you can just decide what you like and what you don't. Deal? Cool!! So, I am Chicago born writer moonlighting as a mental health professional. Now, my paycheck and bank account would tell you that the opposite is true. But in my heart, I'm a writer. I have a few characters that I am very passionate about and some stories to tell and in between there, I have thoughts to share. Some are serious, some are funny...ok...most are funny. Nothing brings me more joy than stirring up the pot, pointing out hypocrisy, and getting people to think outside the box and challenge their long held beliefs. I don't want to change your mind or your habits...just think of me as the Devil's Advocate. So hey! Sit back, take a read, and feel free to let me know what you think. See ya around cyberspace!! Dennis
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

