What scares you?

In light of Halloween season, it seems only natural to ask the question, “What scares you?”

This time of year we are inundated with images that are meant to frighten us, chill us to the bone, and give us pause when we do simple things like walk from our home or job to our vehicle. We share ghostly tales and quickly back up when lights and computers turn on and off with…well…absolutely no human interaction whatsoever. Every creak in the floor and errant sound just outside the window seems amplified. It’s a hap, hap, happy time…and in many respects, we cannot get enough!

There’s something so inviting about that rush of adrenaline. That moment when you feel your heart pounding, ready to simply burst out of your chest! The feeling of every one of your senses being assaulted and your body going on hyper alert mode. The realization that you are so scared that you cannot even move for fear of attack by the very images or beings causing all of those feelings. And in the end, we laugh, maybe cry, but ultimately we feel a overwhelming sense of relief that it’s over and we’re safe.

But nothing beats that rush!

It’s like a drug. A very legal substance that we can use to feel alive, to take us to another place, another level of consciousness. It’s another way for us to challenge ourselves, our beliefs, and the things we think we are and are not capable of. We do it often throughout the year, but Halloween…yeah…this is prime time. Everything dark, evil, and malevolent comes out of the shadows and has a massive party. And sometimes, at the expense of our health and sanity.

But nothing beats that rush!

We dress up. We party hearty. We watch marathons of Michael Myers, Freddy Krueger, and Jason Vorhees. Hell, we watch them in 3D if we can! We visit haunted houses and watch The Exorcist with the lights off. Well…some of you do. Regardless of the “tradition” or activity, it all happens for the same reason…we love the rush. Being scared out of our wits and coming out at the other end unscathed is a bit like cheating death.

Ironically, death is one of the things that scare me, and by extension, many of the aforementioned activities. But still, even I love the feeling at times!

So tell me…what’s your drug? What scares you?

And what is that creeping up behind you….

About My PoeticJustus

Look, I'll be honest. These "about me" sections drive me nuts. Basically because I'm awful at self promotion. Ok, not so much awful as, uncertain. I mean, what do I say? How much do I share? Do people really care? Here's what I'll do. I'll share some info and you can just decide what you like and what you don't. Deal? Cool!! So, I am Chicago born writer moonlighting as a mental health professional. Now, my paycheck and bank account would tell you that the opposite is true. But in my heart, I'm a writer. I have a few characters that I am very passionate about and some stories to tell and in between there, I have thoughts to share. Some are serious, some are funny...ok...most are funny. Nothing brings me more joy than stirring up the pot, pointing out hypocrisy, and getting people to think outside the box and challenge their long held beliefs. I don't want to change your mind or your habits...just think of me as the Devil's Advocate. So hey! Sit back, take a read, and feel free to let me know what you think. See ya around cyberspace!! Dennis
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What scares you?

  1. R. Alexander says:

    Nothing scares me…except horror movies and dental instruments!

Leave a Reply

